Foundation Merit Scholarships

UMHEF Foundation Merit Scholarships help make it possible for students to attend a United Methodist-related seminary in the U.S. Annually, UMHEF allocates a $3,000 scholarship each for a first, second, and final-year student.

These schools include:
Boston University School of Theology
Candler School of Theology
Claremont School of Theology
Drew University Theological School
Duke Divinity School
Gammon Theological Seminary
Garrett Evangelical Theological Seminary
Iliff School of Theology
Perkins School of Theology
Saint Paul School of Theology
United Theological Seminary
Wesley Theological Seminary

Eligible students must be:

  • member of the United Methodist Church for at least 1 year
  • Have a minimum GPA of 3.0 or equivalent from latest academic transcript (this is not hard and fast, so if you have a deserving student who does not meet this requirement, please reach out to us to discuss)
  • Preference should be given to ethnic minority and/or first generation college students

How to Nominate Students:

The nomination form for awards for the 2022-2023 academic year will be posted in the spring of 2022. Please check back!